Primary election ballots filled

Posted by : Press release | On : March 16, 2012

From Staff Reports

Republican and Democratic parties in Henderson County have drawn positions for placement on the ballot for the Primary Election to be held May 29.

Candidate filing for county, state and national offices ended March 9.

The most widely contested race in Henderson County is Precinct 1 Commissioner, where four Republicans are facing off. They are Ken Hayes, Scotty Thomas, O.B. Skip Smith and Ron Welch. A likely runoff election is foreseen to face Democrat David McGlaun in the November General Election.

Incumbent Precinct 3 Commissioner Ronny Lawrence faces Van Voast, drawing no opponent from the Democratic Party in November.

Sheriff Ray Nutt will run opposed in the Republican primary, but will face Democrat Bill Burton in the November.

In the Tax Assessor’s race, incumbent Milburn Chaney will be opposed by Anita Willingham Smith in the Republican primary. The Democrats will field Bryan Barker in November.

In the Precinct 5 Constable race, incumbent Brad Miers will face Eric Adair on the Republican side. The winner will take on Democrat Rick Simmons in November.

Precinct 3 Constable race will include Rick Carver, David Grubs and James Lehman for Republicans.

Precinct 2 Constable race will pit Rodney Henderson against Norman Terry for Republicans.
Precinct 1 Constable race will see Democrat incumbent Daryl Graham against Dorothy Houston.

Those running unopposed in the Republican primary are District Attorney Clint Davis, District Attorney Scott McKee, and Pct. 4 Constable Richard Stewart.

In State races, the District 10 representative post has drawn some competition for Republican incumbent Jim Pitts. Challengers Matthew D. Melton , Linda Bounds and T.J. Fabby will be on the ballot. Part of Henderson County fell into District 10 (Waxahachie and parts of Ellis-Navarro counties) when the Legislature redrew the districts following the newest U.S. Census information.

In District 4, State Rep. Lance Gooden will go against Dr. Stuart Spitzer.

Because of redistricting, starting next year the Cedar Creek Lake area will cover both districts. District 10 will include Malakoff, Trinidad, and the west side of the lake up to Seven Points. Caney City, Cross Roads and the rest of Henderson County remains in District 4.

Comment (1)

  1. […] without a scorecard … well, the ballot is your scorecard. Learn more: Both the Athens and the Malakoff papers have […]