Filings flurry as election cycle officially begins

Posted by : admin | On : December 1, 2011

(UPDATE: Adds McGlaun to Pct. 1 Commissioner list)

From Staff Reports

Filing for the party primary elections in March opened up this week and Henderson County saw a flurry of activity, with most of the action centering on the Pct. 1 Commissioner’s race.

Four have signed up so far on the Republican side: Ken Hayes, Skip Smith, Scott Thomas, and Ron Welch. No one had filed for the Democrats as of press time Wednesday. Late Wednesday, after this week’s print edition went to press, the Democrat Party announced that David McGlaun filed for Pct. 1 Commissioner on that side.

Officials from both parties said this week there could be more candidates before filing closes on Dec. 15.

Incumbent Pct. 1 Commissioner Joe Hall has announced he will not run for reelection.

Another race of concern to Malakoff area residents is for the Pct. 5 Constable seat. Incumbent Brad Miers and challenger Eric Adair have filed on the Republican side. Rick Simmons has filed for the Democrats.

In county-wide races, the incumbents have filed on the Republican side without a challenger in the Sheriff (Ray Nutt), District Attorney (Scott McKee), County Attorney (Clint Davis), Tax Assessor (Milburn Chaney), and 392nd District Court (Carter Tarrence) races.

Former Justice of the Peace Bill Burton has filed to run for Sheriff in the Democratic primary.

Races in other parts of the county include:

  • Pct. 3 Commissioner: Incumbent Ronnie Lawrence has filed on the Republican side.
  • Pct. 1 Constable: Incumbent Daryl Graham has filed as a Democrat.
  • Pct. 2 Constable: Incumbent Norman Terry and challenger Rodney Harrison are filed for the Republican primary.
  • Pct. 3 Constable: Incumbent David Grubbs and challengers Rick Carver and James Lehman filed in the Republican primary.
  • Pct. 4 Constable: Incumbent Richard Stewart has filed in the Republican primary.

State races important to Henderson County include Texas House District 10 and District 4, and Senate District 3.

In House District 10, which will include Malakoff, Trinidad, Tool and Seven Points after redistricting, incumbent Rep. Jim Pitts and challenger T.J. Fabby have announced they will be running in the Republican primary.

In House District 4, which includes the rest of Henderson County and Kaufman County, incumbent Rep. Lance Gooden and challenger Dr. Stuart Spitzer, MD, have announced they will be running in the Republican primary.
Incumbent Sen. Robert Nichols, R-Jacksonville, has filed for reelection for District 3.

Filing is open until 6 p.m. Dec. 15.

Those wishing to file as a Republican can contact the Henderson County Republican Party at 903-675-2829. Democrats can contact the Henderson County Democratic Party at 903-288-1567.

Comments (3)

  1. […] – not to mention several more localized races. Learn more: The Malakoff News had a midweek roundup of filings.  Story No. 2 – Parade time: Santa can’t come to town without a parade, it […]

  2. Krista Stutts said on 01-12-2011

    Nice job Micheal!